For Exceptions ~ Muchas Gracias

What set off this entry is actually a sweet piece of news: the Chair of the Psych Department at BC made an exception for me today, an exception that paves the way to taking Health Psych in the Spring.  Woo hoo!  I’ve been wanting to take this class for a LONG time now.

And I got to thinking . . . without “exception” there’d be no “exceptional.”  A well-placed exception can pave the way, not only for something as simple as a class, but for exceptional acts, exceptional progress, exceptional awareness.  If Rosa Parks hadn’t made an exception to her normal rule-abiding behavior, who knows when the Civil Rights Movement would have kicked off.

The young man knows the rules, but the old man knows the exceptions.

Oliver Wendell Holmes

Exception can be seen as a crack in the wall of rules and structure.  Sometimes that crack allows for nasty mold to grow, sometimes, a beautiful light shines through, and sometimes, the structure comes tumbling around it!
So I decided to make as many exceptions as I could for the rest of the day, and maybe even the week, as an experiment.  Bed before 10?  Not today, I’m reading an engrossing book I just bought!  Um … let’s see, what are my other rules?  Thinking about it, I don’t actually have many (surprise, surprise!) … it’s primarily a case-by-case existence up in here.  But I’m sure as the week progresses I’ll identify more ways to make positive exceptions, and so long as it feels safe, I’ll happily continue to experiment with “exceptional” life.  Cheers, Professor Hass!
One thought on “For Exceptions ~ Muchas Gracias”

Leave a Reply

