Things to Amuse Whilst Locked Out of the House

So I’m sitting in a tiny hole in the wall internet cafe in Brixton, London, unofficial capital of Britain’s African-Caribbean community.  Strolling down the market, taking in the smells of Jamaican jerk goodies and the fish shop round the corner, reggae beats swirling through my eardrums, as I nibble on the pound-fifty grapes I picked up from a sweet teenage stand-minder, “Alright, dahlin, anyting else fo’ yah?”

Nope, I’m good.

Borrowed from Wikipedia, I took a picture almost exactly like this one earlier this morning

Yoga practice visited, A.M. hours slipping away, SIM card purchased and credit ready to spend, my errands are checked off without a hitch.  It’s not until I roll back up to the flat where I’m staying does the first mini-drama of my return to London commence.

I’m locked outta the house, keys in hand.

There’s a wonky lock on this funky British door, one lock out of three I’d just so happened to flick trying to get out this morning.  It’s not the end of the world.  Our neighbor’s a sweetie from Sweden and he let me use his cell to ring up my friend.  It’ll just be a few hours til anything gets sorted . . .

Popcorn and wine: always a tempting way to spend an afternoon

The Ritzy for a film?  A pub for a pint?  Libraries and cafes and parks, oh my!  A million and two ways to bide my time until I’m rescued from self-imposed exile, and I choose to come to an internet cafe.

A http://www.junky, I am.

Listening to a few tracks (below), I’m writing this post and having three chat conversations with homies I’ll be meeting over the course of the next few weeks.  It’s not easy, but London is never boring, and the friends I’ve made here are truly golden.  Life is sweet …

TUNAGE! (etc.)

QUOTE ON MY MIND

Kindness in words creates confidence. Kindness in thinking creates profoundness. Kindness in giving creates love. ~ Lao Tzu … and this is something I find even more common than rain in the Big Shmoke.

One thought on “Things to Amuse Whilst Locked Out of the House”

Leave a Reply

