Japan Fundraiser: Giving feels goooooood!

For the last week or so I’ve been working on a fundraiser for the victims of the Japan earthquakes and tsunami.  Building the Project Surya website, spreading the word on Facebook, creating sponsorship sheets and writing emails, it’s been more than just a fun project – performing selfless service like this has put the biggest smile on my face all week!

I didn’t notice it until a friend from work told me one day, “You have just been beaming in the mornings!”

And it’s true.

I wake up with more energy and jois de vivre!  The days go by faster!  I can’t wait to get back onto my computer and continue with the project checklist! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Though I’ve always done volunteer and charity work, this is the first time I’m not just participating or acting as VP of Communications.  This time it’s my baby, and it feels incredible.

Here are the details:

On Friday May 6th, at 6:00 am, a group of teachers here in the Western Region will perform 108 Sun Salutations in a dedication ceremony to those victims of the earthquakes and tsunami in Japan.

We’re fundraising by using a ChipIn page (you’ll need PayPal).  Check it out here to donate!  If you’d rather send me a check or transfer money to my Bank of America or Chase accounts, both of those are options as well!

Most of my Japanese family are actually from Fukushima, where they’re watching the nuclear power plant developments with baited breath.  With 160,000 homeless and whole towns to rebuilt, Japan can use all the help it can get.

According to The Economist, the international response has been shockingly slow, and on top of that, beauracracy is holding up a lot of funds fromsupportive countries.

All this in Japan, a nation consistently ranked in the top 5 for their quick and generous offerings of international aid (The New York Times)!

To ensure our donations go to the right place – quickly! – I chose a 4-star charity, ranked by Charity Navigator, one that has been rated 100% efficient by Forbes for eight years in a row – DIRECT RELIEF INTERNATIONAL.  They work with non-profits on the ground in Japan and ensure contributions are placed in the most effective and appropriate hands.

So far, the response from my network has been really surprising!  An old college friend was the first to reply and donate, one who I’d not been in contact with at all!  My former boss was generous enough to make a contribution as well.

Thanks to everyone out there, for your well-wishes and financial support.  Together, our healing intentions will manifest – on Japanese ground, in the lives of thousands.

Feels good, doesn’t it?

One thought on “Japan Fundraiser: Giving feels goooooood!”

Leave a Reply

