IMG_20121018_203052

Danke Day 2

Grooving along smoothly in the year of gratitude, today’s source of thanks: MUSIC.

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music.
Aldous Huxley

Tonight two very special musical performances went down: Kirtan with Jai Uttal at Dharma Mittra’s and Flying Lotus playing a live set for NPR right here in NYC.

(The Flying Lotus set can be heard on the NPR website and is sure to bring the flava.  Check it out!)

A few months back I got a ticket for the former, knowing it’d be a good vibe for bringing in the big 3-3 (that, and the Krishna Das tickets were $50.  That’s some expensive divine sound right there!).  With kirtan, a spiritual call and response, you become a part of the music, which is really a devotional offering if done with intention.  I never really used to like singing until kirtan rolled up in my life!

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.
Plato

So why music?  Tonight’s kirtan experience was just as it should be: heart-opening and liberating.  I shared it with a friend I met in training in India and even ran into another warm soul I met when I first landed here in NYC.

At certain periods in my life, music has been a kind of comforter  – you can cuddle on up between the notes, warm yourself and hide from the big bad world.  It’s the muse of the dancer, the most transcendent of art forms.  A mysterious creation between the gross and the subtle, harkening back to those formative nine months where bassy echoes from a yet-unknown terrestrial life permeated womb, rippled through the amneotic, infusing the recipient with connection, communication, preverbal – supra-verbal?

Music in the soul can be heard by the universe.
Lao Tzu

The language of emotion, music is individual expression, universal experience, shared, personal and all a matter of taste.  I could probably write a multitude of blogs about all the music I’ve been blessed to hear (and work with) over the years.   Not to mention all the jams I’ve been to with my pops, who got me started early on Jazz and Blues.

It’s getting late, Music, and I’m still vibing from the kirtan gig tonight, but thanks for all the moments shared with friends, the inspiration, and for generally rocking my world.

 

Leave a Reply

