ShivaHall

JoJournal: Post-ATTC Transitions (& TED vids!)

It’s been well over two weeks since my last blog, mainly due to the intense schedule of my ATTC, which I can now happily say I’ve not only survived, I’ve fully taken in and completed with a smile.  Woo hoo!

It wasn’t always easy, in fact, it was down right dirty and sweaty most of the time.  But honestly, if I’d been able to stay in the ashram groove for a bit longer, I totally would have done it.  All that practice time was phenomenal . . . and you really can’t beat the tropical surroundings in Kerala.  It’s like the more chaotic growth hormone version of Hawaii.

But here I am instead, sat upon Chippy’s couch, enjoying a different kind of fabulous environment all together.  The crisp cool air of the UK spring, a cuppa tea (minus the masala) that makes me feel at home, a door-delivered pizza, a big soft bed and . . . wow, I’m not actually sweating right now!  This is great!

The client and the makeup artist - me sneaking a thankyou kiss after Chippy prettied me up one night.

Being not just out of the ashram, but out of India all together, the most difficult thing has been trying to put into words what exactly happened during that perspective-altering month in teacher training.  We were asked all the important questions: What is the nature of reality?  Is there really such a thing as individual existence?  In what ways does yoga change one’s awareness?  How much control do we have over our quality of life?

Although we’re told not to discuss the finer points of the yogic mind-blender, I can say this: it was unexpected, powerful, and potentially life-altering.

While I go through the process of putting things into words, I wanted to share a few TED videos I found particularly relevant at this transition point …

Here, modern legend and philosopher Alain de Botton plugs his new book – an outline of Botton’s own Atheism 2.0, which essentially proposes we pick and choose the “best bits” of religion, leaving the stale dogmatism and distasteful fanaticism out of it all.  Community service?  We’ll take that.  Sweet aesthetic sense?  Heck yeah.  Exclusive snobbery and mundane ritual?  Nah thanks.

Atheism 2.0 with Alain de Botton

Sounds like an approach I’ve been employing for the last ten years!  I love when a genius public figure waxes lyrical about something that’s been on my mind for a while.  Sure, I didn’t think of it first (or say it best), but at least I’m on the same page as someone as brilliant as this guy :)

In this next video, “psychologist Jonathan Haidt asks a simple, but difficult question: why do we search for self-transcendence? Why do we attempt to lose ourselves? In a tour through the science of evolution by group selection, he proposes a provocative answer.”

Humanity, Transcendence, Evolution

Enjoy!

One thought on “JoJournal: Post-ATTC Transitions (& TED vids!)”

Leave a Reply

