DSC00428

Sattva & Renunciation in Cleansing

So the cleanse is over <insert satisfied grin here> and with closure comes perspective!

Cleanse schedule - it's been through some times!

I can’t help but think about how dietary cleansing fits into the big picture.  Clearly, there is a complex mind-body connection, but does food play an integral role in a spiritual life?

Fasting is a typical practice in Buddhism, Islam, Christianity, Jainism, Mormonism, Hinduism, Catholicism, Judaism, Baha’i Faith and Sikhism.  Before I left the UAE, colleagues were preparing for Ramadan, 30 days of fasting from sunrise to sunset with no water, by fasting twice a week.  Not an easy practice through the hot summer days.  Nothing is to pass the lips of the devout, not even a kiss.

To abstain from some or all food and drink for certain periods of time in the name of appreciation for the Divine is as old as the faiths themselves.

Even if you’re not a particularly religious or spiritual person, there are obvious physical and psychological benefits to fasting from some (or all) foods for a certain amount of time – in the safest conditions, of course.

As far as the fasting-spirit connection goes, I’d think logically, if you believe in a Divine or a spirit, if it’s good for the mind-body, then it must be good for the soul.  They’re all part of the same continuum.

A contemplative end to my detox - Abu Dhabi sandstorm brewing in the distance. Cheesy, I know.

For me, all acts in life are, in as much as I am able to be consciously be aware, ideally executed as an offering to something greater than myself.  In this way, each act is also a means for personal growth – acting with awareness ain’t always easy!  If something is to be done with consideration, sensitivity, kindness and grace, laziness is hardly an option.  But as anyone who knows me will attest, that’s more of a goal than a reality most moments!

There’s a part of me that finds comfort and joy in paying homage to the Divine – and if such a thing exists it must be ever-present both within and around me.  Sometimes, I see the Divine simply as a concept, a human construct of sorts, to try and better understand the Universe, in all its beauty, its sometimes confounding sense of “fair,” and of course, the ever-dangerous question “why?”

But this is the subject of another blog/rant!  Back to the cleanse . . .

The oft overused statement “Your body is a temple,” as much as it may initially connote conceit to some, can be very valuable as an approach to nutrition.

If you met God, would you offer her a twinkie?

A Yogic Diet

According to traditional yogic nutrition guidelines, yogis are to consume only “sattvic” foods, that is, foods that provide healthful energy and lead to a balanced state of clarity.  Sattva is one of three kinds of “gunas,” or tendencies of nature; the other two are “rajas,” and “tamas.”

Rajasic foods are those that over stimulate the body or mind, like coffee and tea, eggs, garlic, onion, meat, fish and chocolate, as well as most processed food.  Where there’s an active lifestyle, it may not be detrimental to one’s peace of mind to consume such foods, though it should be done in moderation.

The chocolate section in the Frankfurt Airport convenience store - rajas galore.

Personally, I’m a big fan of the tastiness of this group (except for meats), so abstaining can be tough.  It’s easy to give up garlic and chocolate when it’s not available, if you’re in an ashram or a spa.  But in everyday life, it ain’t so easy!

After the two-week cleanse, I took my first bite of chocolate – a dark blend from Lindt with whole roasted hazelnuts.

Chocolate. Manifestation of the Divine? As close as we'll probably ever get ;o)

I had a quarter of a bar – followed by such an extreme reaction, I’m a little scared to nibble again!  Dizziness, inability to write, and a full body high I’d not experienced for a long time!   Whew, somebody pass me some water . . .

On the opposite end of the spectrum are tamasic foods, those inducing a heaviness of the body or a dullness of the mind.  This would include alcohol, leftovers, and overripe or spoiled foods.

Sattvic foods include all fruits and vegetables, which is perfect for this cleanse, as well as nuts, whole grains, legumes and dairy.  Generally, if it’s fresh, agreeable and nutritious, you’re in the sattva zone!

Traditional Egyptian fare - 100% sattvic.

So my cleanse has certainly fallen under the category of “sattvic.”  And with a few exceptions, and the occasional boogie juice, I generally eat a sattvic diet on a daily basis.  Eliminating dairy, grains, legumes, and most nuts on this cleanse was the big change – and this is where “renunciation” came into play.

It is impossible to overlook the extent to which civilization is built upon a renunciation of instinct.
Sigmund Freud

Renouncers in yoga are called “sannyasins,” practitioners of the “casting down” or “laying aside” of all worldly concerns and attachments.  It’s an attitude to life at the margins of Indian society, acceptable in the post-householder final stage of life, after children have left and the material world becomes less of a necessity.

Much to the dismay of Hindu authorities, the practice is often adopted by younger practitioners, leading to abandoned families and fields, as well as kingdoms of the past.

An early-stage former-sannyasin . . . now married to a German lady!

There are two ways to approach renunciation: followers of a Mythic tradition would leave everything behind without any concern for the future, while the Tantric, Sahajayana and Integral schools allow for a metaphorical renunciation as an inner, or mental act.  The practitioner lets go of all attachments of the mind, including the ego, but is free to remain a householder.  (Feuerstein, 2008)

Some would say the cleanse isn’t “renunciation,” as defined from a traditionally yogic point of view.  I didn’t leave everything behind to eventually become a wandering sannyasin.

Sill, I have adopted, over the years, an attitude to life, which is healthily detached from many things – availability (or lack thereof this year!) of particular foods, the absence of a kitchen, or with whom I share my meals.

I’m happy to eat with people or alone whatever is available and not torture myself by thinking about what meals I could be having instead.  In a social situation, I sometimes fall into the old habit of fanaticizing about meals I’d like to cook, share or munch.  But that’s more a means of relating than actual attachment to the food.

Oh, creme brulee. I don't technically need you. But I do appreicate when you're around!

Fact is, I’ll never stop being a foodie and find endless delight in the art of cooking!

It’s a Wrap

Day to day, I’m clearly more of a renouncer of the metaphorical bend.  And that’s all good.

Both approaches have seen praise and criticism, but Krishna, in the Baghvad Gita, makes a much stronger case for the metaphorical approach.  Mere abandonment indicates a practitioner still thinks the senses abide in the sense objects.  That by eliminating them, she is somehow eliminating the act, and therefore the desires themselves.

But the practitioner who continues to act, and simply assigns all actions to the Absolute ,“is not defiled by sin, just as a lotus leaf is not stained by the water.”

In that case, I think I’ll just have me some ice cream, and do it in the name of the Lawd! ;)

4 thoughts on “Sattva & Renunciation in Cleansing”

    1. Hehe, I thought about it after I wrote that … and I suppose, if that’s all I had in my bag, I would! But I wouldn’t be happy about it, ya know? ;o)

  1. Sattavic, Tamasic and Rajasic foods. If one googles ‘sattvic tamasic rajasic’ a lot of different sites give very different and conflicting information as to what foods fall in which category. A lot of those sites are run by the people in the west. They seem to reinterpreting these terms, yoga etc to suit their lifestyles or their preferences or what they eat or what their do.

    A typical scenario is that a western person gets interested in yoga. He/she starts doing yoga (basically asana) and gets more and more deep into it. He/she goes to India and spends some time there. The yoga ideology as practiced in India would require a huge lifestyle change and is so different to the way he/she is living. So he/she finds a yoga teacher in India who says all that change doesn’t have to be made. There are a lot of yoga schools like that who cater to richer western clientele. Now this western person gets really good at asana practice and they go back to their country and teach and they have build their website – they try to redefine yoga or what ahimsa means or what satavic, tamasic, rajasic is. There are western yoga gurus very popular and with huge followings in the west – I am not going to name any – who would say eating non-vegetarian food is okay and not contrary to yoga ideology (Krishnamacharya, Iyengar and P Jois were all vegetarian and said person eating non vegetarian food wouldn’t breathe right for yoga) and they have all these interpretations. Also they make big money. Training with them costs thousands of dollars. Those will totally flout yamas – ahimsa and aprigraha – actually redefine what those terms means to suit them. For them, yoga is something that makes them healthy, makes them look younger and fitter and makes them quite a lot of money. A lot of them actually do claim that they went to India and they picked up the best elements of yoga and incorporated modern western physiology and what they are teaching is better yoga than what is being practiced in India for centuries!! I did teacher training with them and spend quite a bit of time at their schools. Yoga is in the hands of these people is akin to a knife in the hands of a monkey – results are unpredictable and probably someone is going to get hurt. So I find web is full of interpretations of these people as what yoga, ahima, bramaacharya, aparigraha, pratayahara etc are. It is hard of find pure authentic Indian sources.

    Well my parents being very religious, I grew up in India in a very religious environment. A sanyasi is someone who renounces the world to pursue God. A good Sanyasi would have no possessions, would not live in one place for more than 5-10 days (so that he doesn’t develop attachments) among other things. Fortunately as a child I got to see, talk and spend time with a lot of good Sanyasis. Some of the them taught yoga. For free, of course. These were peoples who were so pure and unadulterated. So I am writing here what I learnt from them.

    Sattavic, Rajasic and Tamasic –
    Sattavic foods are – juicy fruits, fresh vegetables that are easily digestible, fresh milk, whole soaked or also sprouted beans, grains and nuts, many herbs and some spices.

    Rajasic foods are bascially Sattavic foods that have been cooked, fried in oil, certain spices added to them. Certain spices are Sattavic and certain others are Rajasic.

    Tamasic food consists of dead food such as meat, fish, poultry, eggs, stale food, processed food full of chemical additives, take away fast foods, reheated food, alcohol, cigarettes and other drugs of addiction/intoxication.

    Meat (from any animal – cow, chicken, pig, goat, sheep etc), fish are especially tamasic as the fear, anger, pain and other highly negative emotions of the animal being killed/slaughtered/murdered is transferred to the person eating the flesh. Eating the body parts from the carcass of a dead animal – who loved his/her life as much as we love ours – causing him/her to feel same emotions that we will feel if we are being murdered – the harmones they secrete at the time of death – nothing is more tamasic.

    All reheated food, food eaten 4-6 hours after being cooked is tamasic.

    For example – take mung beans.
    Sprout it and it is Sattavic.
    Cook it, add oil, spices, salt – it is Rajasic.
    Eat it after reheating or 4-6 hours after it is cooked – that is Tamasic.

    Goes without saying all the processed foods is Tamasic.

    ——————-
    That is what I learnt as a kid, growing up in the company of religious people.
    Anyway your article make me react and brought back what I learnt as a kid from the holy and true sanyasis. I feel very fortunate to have spent time with them in my childhood.

    Also your article made me look again at my eating habits. I think the only tamasic food that I eat is the food I reheat. I cook organic brown rice every alternate day. One cooked this morning gets eaten at lunch and dinner today and tomorrow (so reheated rice 3 meals out of 4). Same with legumes. Veges mostly I steam and eat fresh. Your article did make me think. Maybe I will start cooking my brown rice and legumes every day. It takes time and effort.

    Fresh milk is impossible to get now. Last time i got fresh milk was in Banaras in Sept 2010. You know Alok. His family has got a cow. So every morning he used to bring me ½ a liter of milk milked 2 hours back. It was so so so so nice, tasty and so fresh. The organic milk I buy in sydney is pretty rubbish compared to that. And the milk you buy in Delhi or Banaras in bottles or polypacks is even lot more worse than what you can buy in sydney. When I was in banaras in December, I was looking forward to his cow’s milk but unfortunately she wasn’t giving milk those day. So next time you are in Banaras, ask him. And you can go meet the cow as well. It is nice to know and be friends with cow whose milk you are drinking. Don’t you reckon? I think it is very cool. Well some exploitation is there because it is intended for the calf but you can feed calf something else in lieu and say thanks to her and it is still very cool. :-)

Leave a Reply

